July 6, 2009

Posted on July 6, 2009. Filed under: Daily Food Diary |

FBG was good this morning but I couldn’t stomach breakfast, no matter how hard I tried. I did fix the man some cream of wheat and 2 slices of turkey bacon but couldn’t eat any myself.

I was about to have salad for lunch when I got a call from work telling me I was late. Ooops! I forgot the schedule changed and I was supposed to be there at 11 rather than 1 so I ignored the salad, got dressed, and rushed in. During my lunch break I had some unbreaded grilled chicken with a little bit of pizza sauce and cheese, all baked in the oven. It’s way too high in fat but is okay for a now and then quick meal.

When I left work two hours later the BG was 96. I ran to the office, changed clothes, picked up the man, and we hustled to the gym. We had dinner at their little cafe; 1/2 a turkey pastrami and cheese wrap (whole wheat wrap) and a few baked pita chips. BG right before working out was 74. I knew I couldn’t go crazy with the workout (like I ever do!) so I walked an easy pace for 1/2 an hour on the treadmill and checked it again. It was 54! Oooops! Mind you, I hadn’t had insulin since 7 AM so it wasn’t insulin causing that and I’d just eaten a small meal of pretty good carbs. So what happened? I don’t know but I do wonder if my insulin sensitivity has increased. Can it improve so dramatically and so quickly? Good question..

I stopped the workout, chewed a couple of glucose tabs and took my shower. We got home and it was better at 97.

I really have to figure out this exercise, insulin, and carb issue, and might have to eat a few more carbs before a workout.

Thoughts on this?

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...